The letters that appear after a car’s manufacturer and model are known as trim level designators. If you want a Honda Accord, for example, you may get one in the LX, Sport, EX, EX-L, or Touring trim levels. But what do these letters really mean?

Honda offers a wide choice of products, which is an understatement. Everything from little subcompacts to large sedans, crossovers, and hybrids are available in the company’s inventory. A pickup vehicle and a minivan are also available for hire.

However, with eleven different nameplates and eleven trim versions to choose from, finding the correct Honda for your needs may be difficult. To make things simpler to grasp, the variations between Honda’s different trim levels have been broken down.

What are the different trim levels and what do they mean?

The trim level of a vehicle determines its equipment and distinguishing characteristics, such as its opulent interiors and top-of-the-line audio systems, as well as its overall price. A vehicle’s cost varies according to its configuration and the number of choices it has. The more options it has the higher its cost.

The honeycomb grille on the Honda CR-V Sport for 2020 is a trim-level nomenclature designed by product designers to properly convey the package that is being offered.

The use of the trim level term provides the consumer with a sense of what they may expect from the vehicle’s overall package when they purchase it.

For the same trim designations, not all manufacturers use the same letters. Each manufacturer has the ability to add a couple of letters to the rear of a model name, and those letters may imply anything they wish. However, there are some similarities.

If you’re searching for a new car or SUV from a Japanese manufacturer, we’ve included the various trim levels for Honda cars below so that you can get an idea of what to expect when you go shopping.

What Is the Difference Between Honda LX, EX, EX-L, and SE Trim Levels?

Let’s take a look at what separates the Honda LX from the EX-L, the EX-L from the EX, and the LX from the EX before getting into the specifics. To begin, the designations LX, EX-L, and EX refer to distinct trim levels of Honda automobiles.

As standard equipment, these cars are equipped with a three-point seat belt, side curtain airbags, an anti-lock braking system, front airbags, and active head restraints for the driver and front passenger.

Additional features include electronic brake distribution, daytime running lights, tire pressure monitoring system, emergency trunk release, and child-proof rear door locks.

The Honda LX Line-up

However, although the LX trim level is the most basic available on the majority of Honda vehicles, it is far from being the most basic in terms of equipment.

All of Honda’s smallest models come standard with a 5-inch color LCD screen, automatic headlights, a body-colored rear spoiler, power windows (including one that automatically raises and lowers for the driver), and the Multi-Angle Rearview Camera.

Toyota’s 2020 LX model year lineup comprises the following vehicles: the Lexus RX 350 A sampling of Honda’s most popular models include the Fit, Civic Coupe, Civic Hatchback, Insight, Accord, HR-V, CR-V, Pilot, and Odyssey.

Honda’s most popular vehicles also include the CR-V, Pilot, and Odyssey. Honda’s Fit is the most popular car in the Fit series, according to sales figures.

The Honda EX Line-up

Honda’s Odyssey, Insight, CR-V, and HR-V crossovers are all available with the EX trim level, which adds additional features and improves safety above the base model. Honda’s Accord Hybrid and Accord are also available in the EX trim level, which adds extra features and increases safety over the standard models.

Honda’s Blind Spot Information System with Cross Traffic Monitor is offered as an option on the EX trim level of the tiny CR-V crossover car, along with amenities like push-button start, dual-zone automatic climate control, heated front seats, and a 12-way electrically adjustable driver’s seat.

Line-up of the Honda EX-L

As you go up the Honda range, the EX-L trim level adds a layer of luxury to the EX-series vehicles, which are already luxurious.

There are a few new features that have been added to the Honda Passport, including LED low-beam headlights, heated side mirrors, and windshield acoustic glass. There are also power windows that open and close with a touch of the button and leather-wrapped steering wheel.

In addition to the Odyssey and CR-V, the Honda CR-V and Honda Pilot (hybrid) are also available in EX-L trim levels. Other cars with EX-L trim levels include the Honda Accord, Honda Civic Sedan, Honda Civic Hatchback, and Honda Fit.

Honda also offers a series known as the “Honda EX-L Navi or RES” that is worth mentioning. Both the Odyssey and the Pilot are available with an optional EX-L Navi/RES trim level, which is available on both models. This trim level is a step up from the preceding standard EX-L trim level, which was introduced in 2008.

CabinWatch back seat monitor, HondaLink, and mobile hotspot connectivity are all included as part of this package, as is Honda’s sophisticated Rear Entertainment System, which includes a GPS navigation system (RES).

All of these features, as well as Honda’s sophisticated Back Entertainment System (RES), the CabinWatch back seat monitor, HondaLink, and mobile hotspot capabilities, are included in the package.

The SE Series of Honda

The new “special edition” (SE) model, which debuted in the 2011 lineup, is two notches higher in price than the standard model. There are significant variations between the two vehicles in terms of transmissions and luxury-trim options, for example.

With the addition of the Special Edition (SE) trim level to the CR-LX and V’s other trim levels (EX, EX-L, and Touring), buyers in College Place and Kennewick will have even more options when shopping for their next Honda CR-V.

In terms of features and design, the SE sits between the LX and the EX. However, it retains the same cutting-edge engine featured across the whole 2016 Honda CR-V series, putting it somewhere in the middle.

Drivers in College Place and Kennewick will discover that the 2016 Honda CR-V is the kind of crossover that takes pleasure in giving customers a variety of customization options, and the 2016 CR-V SE goes even further by offering more exterior paint colors than the LX.


It is possible that consumers considering purchasing a Honda may be perplexed by the variations between Honda’s LX, DX, EX, EX-L, and SE versions. We’ve attempted to provide an answer to this question here. When looking at the taxonomy, SE is the most costly, then comes EX, the most expensive in the list. And then LX comes in the line, and then DX is the least expensive of the four.

In addition to cosmetic and comfort changes (such as body-colored mirrors, a better radio, and cruise control), there are performance enhancements (such as four-wheel disk brakes) that distinguish the LX and EX versions from one another (moonroof, more speakers).

According to our knowledge, SE is not a fixed categorization. You won’t get it even from the manufacturer. Also offered is a gasoline-powered Civic GX.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *